Winter Blues… and Greens

These Winter days are the hardest. Always. Everything outside is dead and sad looking. The days are short and cold.

Unusually cold.

IMG_0443a

But not inside… It is Spring in my living room.

IMG_0388

As I sit here sipping my coffee, between trips outside in the 8°F weather to defrost water for the poultry, I can bask in the beauty of my young garden.

IMG_0402

If you haven’t already, NOW is the time to plan and plant your garden! This is especially important for plants that require long growing season like tomatoes, peppers, eggplants and tomatillos, but you can also get a head start on your herbs, cabbage, kale and the like. It is recommended that you start your seeds indoors 6 to 8 weeks before the last frost in your area. You can find that forecasted date in your region here.

But don’t go rushing off to the big box store for those Burpee seeds just yet! You will find a wide variety of better quality seeds online. My favorite companies for rare, organic, heirloom and non-gmo seeds include Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds, Territorial Seed Company, TomatoFest and Potato Garden.* Baker Creek and Territorial both publish beautiful seed catalogs, so be sure to request one when you visit their websites. They will get you all kinds of inspired for Spring! I’ll give you a little sneak peak…

rareseeds.com

See!? Aren’t you inspired already? And yes. That is what I’ve been doing the last couple months – ogling seed catalogs and pinning a billion photos of ripe heirloom tomatoes.

Meanwhile, the Handy Man built this amazing contraption for all of my seedlings to reside on. It has completely revolutionized how I grow transplants. Seriously. These seedlings are 3 weeks old. More on that soon.

IMG_0484

In the mean time, I hope you can stave of these Winter Blues with some green of your own!

*I am not affiliated with or compensated in any way by any of the aforementioned companies.

5 thoughts on “Winter Blues… and Greens

  1. Even here in Florida. We get the blues…but usually they’re in the Summer when nothing grows well except okra and peppers. Planning a garden and sowing seeds is my favorite time! Enjoy your Baker Creek catalog, and happy gardening.

    • Thank you so much! We were just visiting South Florida the other day, soaking up some sun, enjoying morning yoga on the beach and eating my weight in avocado. I have never visited in the summer, but I can only imagine life just slows to a crawl in the heat.

Leave a Reply

